Home Inspector Licensing Requirements by State

The housing market is as dynamic as ever. But one thing that doesn’t change when it comes to buying or selling real estate is the need for experienced home inspectors. To obtain a home inspection you can rely on, you need a home inspector with proven expertise. Here, we’ve provided an overview of the licensing requirements for home inspectors in each state, so buyers and sellers know the minimum standards inspectors will have to meet to offer their services. 

Alabama

Alabama requires home inspectors to have their licenses reviewed on an annual basis. Its regulating body is the Alabama Building Commission. Currently, the state does not require continuing education for home inspectors. To hold a license, home inspectors should:

  • Complete a state home inspector license application
  • Provide proof of compliance with the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors, National Home Inspector Examination, and American Society of Home Inspector Standards and Ethics
  • Provide proof of insurance that includes $250,000 for errors and omissions and proof of liability insurance.
  • Proof of qualifications as applied to a specialty (i.e., electrician)
  • Payment of state registration fee (currently $300)

Alaska

The Department of Commerce and Economic Development regulates Alaska’s home inspectors. Inspectors must complete continuing education requirements to renew their license every two years. Inspectors must also offer proof of a bond in the amount of $10,000.

Arizona

Arizona requires home inspectors to show proof of continuing education each year (14 hours after year one and seven hours after each subsequent year). They must renew their license annually. 

Arkansas

In Arkansas, the Home Inspector Registration Board regulates home inspectors. Licenses must be renewed each year and include proof of 14 hours of continuing education.

California

Currently, California does not regulate home inspectors. However, the state’s 1996 Trade Practice Act prohibits unethical practices among home inspectors. It encourages inspectors to abide by the California Real Estate Inspection Association and the Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics of ASHI.

Colorado

Currently, Colorado does not regulate home inspectors. Practicing home inspectors typically present proof of their certification or training to home buyers and sellers.

Connecticut

The Department of Consumer Protection regulates home inspectors in Connecticut. Inspectors must renew their license every two years and show proof of 20 hours of continuing education. The state requires new applicants to pass an oral, written, or electronic home inspection test provided by the department.

Delaware

Delaware regulates its home inspectors. Home inspectors must renew their licenses every year (years ending in odd numbers). Inspectors must show proof of continuing education and pay their renewal fee. Contact the state for current CE requirements; they are not currently posted on its licensure renewal page.

Florida

The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation regulates its home inspectors. 

To become licensed, applicants must pass an exam and pass a background check. Current inspectors must carry proof of insurance and take continuing education coursework (provided free by the department) every other year (years ending with even numbers).

Georgia

Currently, the state of Georgia does not regulate its home inspectors. However, inspectors are encouraged to carry liability insurance.

Hawaii

The state of Hawaii does not currently regulate or license its home inspectors.

Idaho

Idaho does not regulate home inspectors, but they are encouraged to carry liability insurance.

Illinois

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation oversees the licensure of home inspectors in the state. To qualify for a license, applicants must:

  • Be 21 or older
  • Provide proof of a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete 60 hours of education (from an approved agency)
  • Pass the state’s Home Inspector Exam

Indiana

In Indiana, the Home Inspectors Licensing Board oversees the certification of home inspectors. To qualify for licensure, applicants must pass a background check, complete a state-approved training program, and pass the NHIF. Once approved, inspectors must carry at least $10,000 in liability insurance. 

Iowa

Iowa does not regulate home inspectors at this time. It does encourage home inspectors to carry liability insurance.

Kansas

The state of Kansas does not regulate its home inspectors currently.

Kentucky

The Board of Home Inspectors currently oversees the licensure of home inspectors. To become licensed, applicants must:

  • Be 18 or older
  • Submit completed application
  • Pass the National Home Inspectors Exam
  • Pass a recent background check
  • Show proof of 64 hours of approved training
  • Provide evidence of 16 hours of in-the-field training

Louisiana

The Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors regulates home inspectors. Current home inspector applicants much:

  • Show proof of 90 hours of state-approved classroom education
  • Show proof of 10 hours of training in the field with an approved trainer
  • Show proof of insurance
  • Attend an LSBHI seminar that details the writing of inspections

Maine

Currently, Maine does not regulate its home inspectors.

Maryland

The Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation oversees the state’s home inspectors. To become a Maryland home inspector, applicants must:

  • Complete 72 hours of approved training
  • Pass the NHIE
  • Carry at least $150,000 in liability insurance

Massachusetts

The Division of Professional Licensure and the Board of Registration of Home Inspectors regulate home inspectors in Massachusetts. Applicants must:

  • Pass the state’s license exam
  • Provide proof of 75 hours of educational credits
  • Complete an application
  • Pay a $225 license fee

Michigan

Michigan does not currently regulate its home inspectors; however, it does encourage them to carry liability insurance and become certified by a relevant association.

Minnesota

The state of Minnesota does not currently regulate its home inspectors.

Mississippi

The Mississippi Home Inspector Board regulates its home inspectors. Applicants must

  • Pass the NHIE
  • Complete an approved 60-hour study course
  • Show proof of insurance ($250,000 liability insurance minimum)

Missouri

The state of Missouri does not currently regulate home inspectors.

Montana

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry regulates home inspectors in the state. To obtain a home inspector license in Montana, applicants must:

  • Be a member of a National Home Inspector Association
  • Show proof of 40 hours of home inspection instruction or have passed the state-approved home inspection exam
  • Carries a minimum of $100,000 in liability insurance and $100,000 in errors and omissions insurance
  • Pay an $80 application fee and provide a completed application

Nebraska

The state of Nebraska does not regulate its home inspectors.

Nevada

The Nevada Real Estate Division of the Department of Business and Industry regulates home inspectors. To become a licensed home inspector in Nevada, applicants must:

  • Be fingerprinted
  • Have a minimum of 40 hours of approved training and education
  • Show proof of observing 25 home inspections with a licensed general inspector
  • Pass a state-approved home inspector exam
  • Carry a minimum of $100,000 in general liability insurance and errors and omissions insurance
  • Pay a $350 application fee

New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, the Board of Home Inspectors is the regulator. To qualify for a license, applicants must:

  • Pay a $200 application fee
  • Show proof of liability insurance
  • Provide evidence of passing the NHIE exam (or another board-approved equivalent exam)
  • Complete 80 hours of board-approved training

New Jersey

The Home Inspection Advisory Committee regulates home inspectors in New Jersey. New Jersey requires home inspectors to:

  • Complete 180 hours of approved education and training (including at least 40 hours of field inspections)
  • Proof of accompanying a licensed home inspector on 250 home inspections
  • Carry a minimum of $500,000 in errors and omissions insurance
  • Submit a completed application

New Mexico

The New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department regulates home inspectors in the state. To renew their license every three years, home inspectors must provide proof of 60 hours of continuing education. To qualify for the initial license, applicants must:

  • Pass the NHIE or a state-approved exam equivalent
  • Have completed 100 home inspections with a certified home inspector
  • Meet insurance requirements

New York

The Division of Licensing Services regulates its home inspectors. In order to obtain a license, applicants in New York must:

  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Show proof of 140 hours of approved education and training
  • Complete 100 home inspections with a licensed home inspector
  • Pass the state’s written exam
  • Pay a $250 license application fee

North Carolina

The Department of Insurance – Home Inspector Licensure Board, oversees home inspector licensing in North Carolina. To obtain a license in the state, applicants must:

  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Pass a state-approved home inspector exam
  • Complete 120 hours of training and 80 hours of in-the-field training
  • Meet insurance requirements

North Dakota

In North Dakota, the Secretary of State oversees the licensure of home inspectors. To qualify for a license, applicants must pass a state-approved exam, provide proof of insurance (minimum of $100,000), and pay a registration fee of $200.

Ohio

The state of Ohio does not currently regulate home inspectors.

Oklahoma

The Oklahoma Construction Industries Board regulates home inspectors in the state. To qualify for a license, applicants must:

  • Pass the NHIE
  • Show proof of completing 90 hours of state-approved training
  • Carry a minimum of $50,000 in liability insurance
  • Complete and submit an application

Oregon

The Oregon Construction Contractors Board regulates home inspectors in the state. To become a licensed home inspector in the state, applicants must

  • Complete the state Qualifying Points and Documentation form
  • Complete a state application
  • Pay $150 for certification and certification renewals (every two years)
  • Pass the NHIE exam

Pennsylvania

The state of Pennsylvania does not formally license its home inspectors. Instead, the Attorney General’s Office provides oversight and regulation. 

Rhode Island

The Contractors Registration and Licensing Board provides licensure for home inspectors in Rhode Island. Applicants must have performed at least 100 home inspections with a licensed home inspector and pass a state-approved exam to qualify as a home inspector.

South Carolina

The South Carolina Residential Builders Commission provides licensure for home inspectors in the state. Applicants must:

  • Submit a Verification of Lawful Presence Form
  • Have proof of certification by an approved home inspection organization
  • Pass a background check
  • Perform at least 50 home inspections with a licensed home inspector
  • Pay the $80 application fee

South Dakota

The South Dakota Real Estate Commission oversees home inspector licensure for the state. To become an inspector, applicants must pass a state-approved course, pass an exam, complete the application, and submit $300 for the application fee.

Tennessee

The Department of Commerce and Insurance regulates home inspectors in Tennessee. To obtain a license, applicants must:

  • Complete 90 hours of state-approved training
  • Carry a minimum of $500,000 in liability insurance
  • Carry errors and omissions insurance (no minimum amount stipulated)
  • Pass the NHIE

Texas

The Texas Real Estate Commission regulates home inspectors in the state. Licensure is more complex in Texas than in many other states. To obtain a license, applicants must:

  • Become an apprentice inspector
  • Obtain an intermediate license (real estate inspector)
  • Show proof of completing state-approved education and training 
  • Pass state-approved exams
  • Pass a background check
  • Complete annual continuing education requirements

Utah

The state of Utah does not regulate the licensure of home inspectors.

Vermont

The Vermont Secretary of State oversees the licensure of home inspectors for the state. To obtain a license, applicants must:

  • Be a certified member of ACI
  • Complete at least 80 hours of state-approved education and training
  • Pass the NHIE

Virginia

To become a licensed Virginia home inspector, candidates must complete at least 70 hours of state-approved education and training and complete 25 home inspections with a licensed home inspector. They must also pass a state-approved home inspector exam. Home inspectors must complete 16 hours of continuing education to renew a license, and license expiration dates are posted to applications. 

Washington

The Washington State Department of Licensing oversees home inspectors in the state. To become a certified home inspector, applicants must:

  • Complete the 120-hour Fundamentals of Home Inspection Course
  • Complete 40 hours of training in the field
  • Pass a state-approved exam
  • Pay a $300 application fee

Washington D.C.

Washington D.C. does not currently regulate home inspectors.

West Virginia

The West Virginia Fire Marshal’s Office regulates home inspectors for the state. Applicants must complete 80 hours of state-approved education and pass the state exam.

Wisconsin

The Department of Safety and Professional Services regulates home inspectors for Wisconsin. To become a licensed home inspector in the state, applicants must have a clean background (no felonies) and pass a state-approved home inspector exam. 

Wyoming

Wyoming does not currently regulate home inspectors.

Home Inspections: Bottom Line

Whether you’re applying for a home inspector license in your state for the first time or seeking to renew your license, check with the state about any updated regulations. For more information about home inspector education, training, and licensure, visit ISN Inspection Support Network.